Megan Welsh Becomes Sixth Chancellor’s Fellow from School of Education

Portrait of Megan Welsh

School of Education Associate Professor Megan Welsh has been named a 2019­–2020 UC Davis Chancellor’s Fellow, a title she will hold for the next five years. The Chancellor’s Fellows Program recognizes associate professors or recently promoted full professors who produce groundbreaking scholarly work and serve the university as dedicated teachers and campus citizens. It is one of the most prestigious honors conferred on faculty members at UC Davis.

Welsh was chosen to be a Chancellor’s Fellow because of the quality and significance of her research and her strong commitment to teaching. She is currently spending the 2019–2020 academic year at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in Paris, France conducting important research around equity and international assessment. In 2019, the UC Davis Graduate Student Association recognized her with the campuswide Award for Excellence in Service to Graduate Students.

Welsh is the sixth School of Education faculty member to be named a Chancellor’s Fellow. She joins Professor Lee Martin (2017), Professor Emily Solari (2016), Professor Tobin White (2015), Professor Heidi Ballard (2014) and Professor Michal Kurlaender (2013). 

As a Chancellor’s Fellow, Welsh will receive a one-time award of $25,000 to be used in support of her research, teaching and service activities. The Chancellor’s Fellows Program is supported by funds from the Chancellor’s Club and the Annual Fund of the University of California, Davis. The goal of the program is to honor the achievements of outstanding faculty members early in their careers. Welsh and the other 2019–2020 Chancellor’s Fellows will be honored at a special reception in the coming months.

Log in