California Superintendents Collaborative Network

California Superintendents Collaborative Network

A program of the Center for Applied Policy (CAP-Ed) at UC Davis


“Being a part of this collaborative has been a valuable professional learning opportunity. Thank you to everyone involved.” — Superintendent Network Participant

“It is so crucial to receive a variety of perspectives on key issues from individuals who are in the job of superintendent. Sometimes when you are in the thick of an issue you may not see key details or strategies. Feedback was provided in a way that enabled me to immediately reflect on additional implementation strategies and ideas.” 

— Superintendent Network Participant

“There were many pieces from each presentation that I have tried to incorporate, however working as a team to develop the twelve most valuable components to successful systems leadership was extremely beneficial. I am also beginning to utilize some of these approaches with our school board.”

— Superintendent Network Participant


California Superintendents Collaborative Network’s primary objective is to form an ongoing network of practicing superintendents who are deeply committed to creating coherent and effective systems of instruction in their districts; a network of superintendents who have a genuine willingness to collaboratively explore a variety of implementation strategies that support teaching and learning of all students using a “problems of practice and theories of action” model of inquiry.

The Network will aim to strengthen superintendents’ core leadership capabilities of seeing systems, having reflective conversations and having creative orientation to personal and shared vision with tools to shift leadership toward fundamental solutions (Senge). The network will provide opportunities for dynamic inter-district partnerships as opportunities arise.

Leading Collaborative Professionalism, Andy Hargreaves (4:10min video)

Each year superintendents attend a series of day-long at UC Davis and UC San Diego.


Dr. Steven Ladd, CAP-ED Policy Fellow

Dr. Christina Murdoch, CAP-Ed Executive Director

Dr. Jennifer Jeffries

SELF Network Participating Districts 2022-2023

Christopher Downing, Anaheim ESD – Orange

Jeremy Meyers, Black Oak Mine USD – El Dorado 

Mark Campbell, Calaveras USD – Calaveras

Audra Pittman, Calistoga JUSD – Napa

Shelly Viramontez, Campbell USD – Santa Clara

Norma Martinez, Centralia ESD – Orange

Eduardo Reyes, Chula Vista ESD – San Diego

Rebecca Changus, Colusa USD – Colusa 

Karl Mueller, Coronado USD – San Diego

Matt Best, Davis JUSD – Yolo

Holly McClurg, Del Mar Union – San Diego

Josh Lightle, Eastside Union USD – Los Angeles

Andrée  Grey, Encinitas USD – San Diego

Christina Goennier, Esparto USD – Yolo

Glen Senestraro, Fortuna UHSD – Humboldt

Gabriela Mafi, Garden Grove USD – Orange

Emilio Handall, Guadalupe Union ESD – Santa Barbara

Leisa Winston, Huntington Beach City SD – Orange

Bernardo Vidales, Jefferson ESD – San Mateo

Toni Presta, Jefferson Union HSD – San Mateo

Raquel Rose, Kentfield ESD – Marin

David Feliciano, La Mesa-Spring Valley USD – San Diego

Todd Cutler, Lake Tahoe USD – El Dorado

Brett Geithman, Larkspur-Corte Madera SD – Marin

Eric Volta, Liberty Union HSD – Contra Costa

Rachel Valenzuela, Mark West Union SD – Sonoma

Alan Peterson, Merced Union HSD – Merced 

Ray Andry, Mountain View SD – Los Angeles

Kyla Johnson-Trammell, Oakland USD – Alameda

Mike Swize, Palm Springs USD – Riverside

Matthew Harris, Petaluma City Schools – Sonoma

Marian Kim-Phelps, Poway USD – San Diego

Todd Brose, Red Bluff JUHSD – Tehama

Cliff Curry, Red Bluff UESD – Tehama

Tracy Smith,  Rincon Valley USD – Sonoma

Ziggy Robeson, Ripon USD – San Joaquin

Kathy Wright, River Delta USD – Sacramento

John Becker, Roseville JUHSD – Placer

Jorge Aguilar, Sacramento City USD – Sacramento 

Shawn Tennenbaum, San Benito HSD – San Benito

Andrew Johnsen, San Marcos USD – San Diego

Jodee Brentlinger, Solana Beach ESD – San Diego

Rubén Aurelio, St. Helena USD – Napa

Michael Gallagher, Sunnyvale SD – Santa Clara

Moises Aguirre, Sweetwater Union HSD- San Diego

Jodi McClay, Temecula USD – Riverside

Pam Conklin, Travis USD – Solano

William Spalding, Vallejo City USD – Solano

Kerry Callahan, Western Placer USD – Placer

To learn more about the California Superintendents Collaborative Network at UC Davis please contact CAP-Ed Executive Director, Dr. Christina E. Murdoch at

Log in